Plateau United have emerged winners of the current season of the NPFL. The Tin City boys defeated Rangers of Enugu two goals to nil in the last game of the season to become the 19th winners of the league.


Plateau United finished the 2016/2017 season with a total of 66 points after playing 38 matches. In the the second place MFM lost away to El Kanemi Warriors of Maiduguri two goals to one and finished second with 62 points.


Chuhwuemeka Umeh got the opener for the hope team as the calmly tucked the ball behind Rangers goalkeeper in the 26th minute. Substitute Benjamin Turba made it two in the last minute of the second half after he slammed hope a melee to finish a job well done.


Coach Kennedy Boboye who joined Plateau United from Abia Warriors at the start of the season commended his boys for the feat achieved. Plateau United has never won the Nigeria Premier Football League title since the club was established in 1975. The last title won by the team was in 1999 when they won the FA cup.


Plateau United have received the prize money of N50 million naira and will represent Nigeria alongside runners up MFM FC in the CAF champions league.

READ ALSO:  NPFL final lap gets intense
ETN24 is in the business of fighting fake and sensational News. Our belief is that if News can educate it should not agitate. Fact Checks, Media Reviews, and everyday event. You learn and know what is happening, with one stone.

Leave a Reply

  • (not be published)