South Africa’s president Jacob Zuma has narrowly pulled through the no confidence vote against him for the eighth time.


A total number of 375 votes were cast with a total of 177 Members of Parliament voting to evict the President Jacob Zuma while a total of 198 Members of Parliament voted to keep him in office.


Meanwhile nine members of parliament refused to vote in the parliamentary vote which was conducted using secret ballot.


President Jacob Zuma’s tenure in office ends in 2019 but reports have it that he may step down in 2018.


Meanwhile, Zuma’s ANC has said it will not punish its MPs who voted in opposition to the party. The party secretary-general Gwede Mantashe said on Friday evening in KwaThema, east of Johannesburg.

“We are not going to deal with those who voted with the opposition.”


The ANC claimed it punished just three members in August


“because they voted with the opposition and then started beating drums that they voted with the opposition and then the person got in trouble”



READ ALSO:  Football meets Politics as FC Barcelona demand talks between Catalonia and Spain
ETN24 is in the business of fighting fake and sensational News. Our belief is that if News can educate it should not agitate. Fact Checks, Media Reviews, and everyday event. You learn and know what is happening, with one stone.

Leave a Reply

  • (not be published)